Minimum Wage Increases in 2018

Minimum Wage Increases in 2018

At the start of 2018, the minimum wage increased in 18 states. A few states will increase their minimum wages later in the year. The federal minimum wage has remained steady at $7.25 for many years. However, as the cost of living rises in many areas, several states have passed laws upping their minimum wages in recent years. Many cities and counties have done the same, with some areas inching towards a $15 minimum wage. Employers must pay the highest applicable minimum wage, whether it’s the federal, state, or local rate.

On January 1, 2018, the minimum wage increased to the following amounts:

  • Alaska: $9.84
  • Arizona: $10.50
  • California: $10.50 (employers with up to 25 employees) and $11 (employers with 26 or more employees)
  • Colorado: $10.20
  • Florida: $8.25
  • Hawaii: $10.10
  • Maine: $10
  • Michigan: $9.25
  • Minnesota: $9.65
  • Missouri: $7.85
  • Montana: $8.30
  • New Jersey: $8.60
  • New York: $10.40
  • Ohio: $8.30
  • Rhode Island: $10.10
  • South Dakota: $8.85
  • Vermont: $10.50
  • Washington: $11.50

On July 1, 2018, the minimum wage will increase in the following states and D.C.:

  • District of Columbia: $13.25
  • Maryland: $10.10
  • Oregon: $10.75

Employers and employees should check with their cities or counties to find out if there is a local minimum wage. (Some states, however, prohibit their cities and counties from establishing their own minimum wages.) To learn more about wage and hour rules in your state, see our articles on state wage and hour laws.

Comments are closed.